May 9, 2022

The Legacy Golf Club Tournament Results


On Monday May 9th, 2022, the Iowa Tri-State Chapter of the Amateur Players Tour held their fourth event of the season at The Legacy Golf Club in Norwalk, Iowa. The temperature for the day started out nice and jumped up to the 90s by the end of the tournament. The wind helped cool the players off but wasn’t so friendly for golf. With gusts of up to 35-40 mph it made an already challenging course even harder. Forty-three players would head out to test their skill against this amazing Iowa course.  

Division one as usual did not disappoint, with a field of only 4 players, it came down to a course play off between APT founder Matt Minder and Iowa’s current POY leader, Brandon Estabrook. The two players teed off on hole one to find out who would be the champion. The playoff could not be decided by just one hole so the players headed to hole number 2. On the second playoff hole Brandon Estabrook was able to take the win over Minder, after chipping in. 

Division 2 had some good scores with a field of 9 players. Charlie Estabrook took home the win shooting a score of 80. That gave him a 3-stroke lead over second place winner Daryl Johnson who shot a 83. Estabrook, took the early lead with a 1-stroke lead over Darryl Johnson and Daryl Wolff. On the back nine Estabrook was able to add to his lead and take home his first trophy of the season.  

In division 3 we had 11 players battling it out for the trophy. Kent Chapman was able to take the win by one stroke over Pete Alepra, Darin Smith, and Chad Beavers. Smith was tied with Chapman coming into 18. All he needed was a par for force a sudden death playoff. Sadly, Smith’s par putt lipped out, making Chapman our division 3 Champion.  Second place came down to a scorecard playoff, making Alepra our second-place finisher.  Smith came in third, while Beavers rounded out the top four. 

In division 4 there was not much that could stop our champion, Nick Louderback. Louderback smashed the competition by 7-strokes, shooting an 82.  Mitch Gustin, had a solid day also, coming in second with a score of 89. 

Division 5 had a field of 7 players. Scott Brenton shot an 88 giving him the win by 5 strokes over Robert Rosenbaum. Rosenbaum came in second with a score of 93. 

We want to thank all our players for coming out once again to show their support and to the new players for checking us out! We would also like to give a big thank you to Legacy Golf club pro Trevis Manning and his assistant Marshall for all their hospitality and help today. Thank you for welcoming us to your course and we look forward to playing their again. Congratulations to all our winners today and thank you gentleman for facing the wind and heat today to play some golf! A tough day of golf is still better than a good day at work. We hope to see everyone at our next event at Blue Top Ridge at Riverside Casino on June 5th and 6th. Its going to be a fun two day! 

Upcoming events: 

Blue Top Ridge in Riverside Iowa June 5th and 6th. 

Pleasant Valley Golf Club in Iowa City Iowa June 10th. 

Fyre Lake Golf Club in Sherrard Illinois July 22nd. 

Hunters Ridge Golf Club in Marion Iowa August 8th. 

Veenker Memorial Golf Club in Ames Iowa August 21st. 

Tournament Club of Iowa in Polk City Iowa August 28th. 

Amana Colonies in Amana Iowa September 10th and 11th


Sierra Lakes Winners

Division 1 Champion

Brandon Estabrook

amateur iowa golf

Division 2 Champion

Charlie Estabrook

iowa golf

Division 3 Champion

Kent Chapman

des moines golf

Division 4 Champion

Nick Louderback

golf in iowa

Division 5 Champion

Scott Brenton

midwest golf tournaments