Sep 5, 2022

The Labor Day at Chambers Bay Results


Labor Day weekend would see players from all across the Amateur Players Tour converge in the Pacific Northwest in search of a temperate climate, camaraderie, competition, and some of the best championship golf in the world.  The Labor Day at Chambers Bay would be hosted by Chambers Bay, who finished hosting the 2022 USGA Women’s Amateur just 2 short weeks ago.  Also the host of the 2010 US Amateur and most notably the 2015 US Open, Chambers Bay would provide a difficult yet fair test for the 126 player field vying for over $7,500 in prize payouts paid out exclusively in VISA Gift Cards. 

In Division 1, Will Morgan (Carolina Triad) jumped off to an early lead, firing a first round 74 to take a one-shot lead over National Player of the Year leader Eric King (Kentucky) going into Championship Sunday.  Kory Glasgow (Kansas City) came out hot on Sunday, firing the low-round of 74 to move from 4th to 2nd position, but a steady round of 75 would earn Will Morgan the championship.  Eric King finished in 3rd place, while Ivan Jones (Carolina Triad) and Nate McCutcheon (St. Louis) finished tied for 4th. 

In Division 2, Birmingham’s George Domit jumped out to an early lead with a great first round of 75 on a difficult golf course.  Jeff Clifford (Rocky Mountain) and Matt Phillips (Carolina Triad) trailed by 3 heading into the final round.  Sunday would belong to Matt Phillips, who shot a 76 to earn a 4-shot victory and hold off a charge by Jake Rich (Maryland), who shot the low-round of the day with a 75 and Raymond Kong (Northern California).  Marco Tallerico (St. Louis) would finish in 4th with a 2-day total of 162, George Domit in 5th with 165, and Jeff Clifford rounding out the money with a 2-day total of 166. 

Division 3 would prove to be the most competitive division with 36-holes not being enough to decide a champion.  Metro New York’s Scott Poniewaz started out hot, shooting a first round 81 to lead by 2, but the round of the tournament (79) on Sunday by Seattle’s James Munn would be enough to force a sudden-death playoff.  Scott Poniewaz would emerge victorious on the first hole after 2 solid shots put him in position for the win.  Kansas City’s Matt Thorman and Southern California’s John Dwyer III finished tied for 3rd place just 2 shots off the pace.  Dwyer’s weekend was highlighted by a hole-in-one on the 3rd hole in round 1, earning him a $500 bonus as a member of the hole-in-one club!  5th place would be a logjam, with 4 players finishing just 4-shots off the pace.  Nathaniel Berumen (Northern California), Chris Carter (Kentucky), Christopher Mains (Metro Philadelphia), and Robert Robinson (Augusta) would each finish with two-day totals of 171. 

In Division 4, the first round lead would be held by two Seattle natives.  Bruce Burton shot an 87 to sleep on the lead but was closely chased by Seattle’s Andrew Black.  Sunday would belong to Andrew Black, who would use a hot start to separate himself from the rest of the field, earning his first major win on the Amateur Players Tour.  2nd place honors would belong to Rocky Mountain’s Mark Amann, whose solid weekend had him finish with a 2-day total of 179.  3rd place belonged to Jesse Davis (Rocky Mountain), while 4th place belonged to Thom McCann (Seattle). 

In Division 5, Seattle’s Tejvir Basra and Rocky Mountain’s Matt Walden would be neck and neck all weekend, after both players tied for the lead after day 1 with impressive rounds of 92.  Day 2 would see the battle go back in forth before Matt Walden edged Basra by one shot for his first major victory on the Amateur Players Tour.  Kansas City’s Rocky Metcalfe finished in 3rd place 4 shots off the pace while Rocky Mountain’s Joshua Madden finished in 4th just 6 shots back.  Nashville’s John Marshall rounded at the top 5 with a 2-day total of 199. 


Blind Draw Fourball Results 

Tejvir Basra – Blue Tees Rangefinder 
Matt Phillips – APT Hat/Hoodie ($1,000 USGA Max Limit)  

Christopher Jones – Blue Tees Rangefinder 
Matt Thorman – Blue Tees Rangefinder 

John Hipp – Blue Tees Rangefinder 
James Munn – Blue Tees Rangefinder 

Justin Burk – Blue Tees Rangefinder 
James Munn – Winston Collection APT Headcover, FOH Shirt, Mission Belt & APT Hat

Cliff Austin – Winston Collection APT Headcover + APT Hat 
Christopher Mains – Winston Collection APT Headcover + APT Hat 

Christopher Jones – Winston Collection APT Headcover + APT Hat 
Hendra Wijaya – Winston Collection APT Headcover + APT Hat 

Larry Langley – APT Hat + Hoodie 
James Munn - APT Hat + Hoodie 

Christopher Jones - APT Hat + Hoodie 
Matt Walden - APT Hat + Hoodie 

Cliff Austin - APT Hat + Hoodie 
Rocky Metcalfe - APT Hat + Hoodie 

Raymond Kong – APT Hat + Hoodie 
Rocky Metcalfe – Heavyweight Hoodie  

Matt Fegley – APT Hat + Lightweight Hoodie 
Jake Rich – APT Hat + Lightweight Hoodie 



Chambers Bay Winners

Division 1 Champion

Will Morgan


Division 2 Champion

Matt Phillips


Division 3 Champion

Scott Poniewaz


Division 4 Champion

Andrew Black


Division 5 Champion

Matt Walden