Aug 27, 2022

Spencer T. Olin Senior Golf Tournament Results


On Saturday, the St. Louis Seniors headed to Spencer T. Olin Golf Course in Alton, IL, which was in great shape just ahead of the Ascension Charity Classic Monday Qualifier to be held this Friday.  Spencer T. Olin has a rich history of hosting top-level amateur tournaments, most notably the 1999 USGA Amateur Public Links Championship.  Saturday would see one of the 1999 contestants come back and relive some history.  Memphis’s Ed McDugle would return to Spencer T. for the first time since competing in the prestigious US Am PubLinks 23 years earlier.  McDugle would have a solid day, shooting a 4-over par 76 to tie for 2nd place with Steve Hasenfratz, but the day belonged to Kentucky’s Barney Sutley.  “Some of the best ball-striking I’ve ever seen” was Sutley’s day described by his fellow competitors Hasenfratz and McDugle en route to a 3-under par 69 and 7 shot victory.  Steve Hasenfratzs solid play over the last few weeks has put him in contention to win the $700 prize package for Senior Player of the Year, currently led by Greg Lewis.  John Todd sits in 2nd place, while Kevin Erxleben and Geff Dunn both can play a factor down the stretch.  The last 2 events should be interesting with huge points on the line at the Local Finals at Annbriar on September 17-18. 

In Division 2, Billy Davis extended his lead in the Senior Player of the Year race, shooting a +1 73 to earn a 2-shot victory over Kent Van Cleve.  Ray Morales finished in 3rd with 78, while Jason Carpenter  finished in 4th with a round of 79.  Billy Davis enjoys a lead in the Player of the Year race, but Kent Van Cleve has the opportunity to catch him with a couple wins down the stretch. 

Division 3 was dominated by Gary Hutchcraft, who shot a fantastic round of 2-over par 74 to earn a 6 shot victory.  With his great play, Gary Hutchcraft has earned a promotion to Division 2!  Congratulations Gary on your great play this season!  Chris Price finished in 2nd place with an 80 and Michael Konuch picked up some valuable Player of the Year points with an 81.  Simay Souvannarath leads the Division 3 Player of the Year race, followed closely by Michael Konuch, Jason Stone, and Rick Johnson.  Player of the Year is up for grabs and the last 2 events will be very interesting! 

In Division 4, Sudhakar Injamuri continued his great play of late, shooting an 83 to earn a 2-shot victory over Dolly Buenaventura, who finished in 2nd with 85.  Mike Scalera and Jim Van Horn tied for 3rd with rounds of 86.  Sudhakar Injamuri  holds a narrow lead in the Senior Player of the Year race, chased closely by Steve Middendorf, Mike Scalera, Michael Scoles and Dolly Buenaventura.  With the Local Finals being worth more than double points, it’s anyone’s game for the Player of the Year race at Annbriar!  The finish will be sure to be exciting! 

In Division 5, Mark Galentine entered into the winners circle for the first time, shooting a 90 to earn a 3-shot victory over Chris Brockmeyer.  Byron Whitlock finished in 3rd position.  Jim Seibert leads the Player of the Year race in a stacked, competitive field.  Jerry Miller is close on his heels, and Byron Whitlock, Chris Brockmeyer, and Michael Moynihan all control their own destiny and are sure to be a factor for the $700 Player of the Year Prize. 

The next tour stop is Aberdeen Golf Club on Saturday, September 3rd.  Tee Times start at 10am and the entry fee is $120.  Entry fee includes greens fees, cart fees, use of practice facility, and prize pool entry.  Registration closes on Saturday, September 3rd! 


Spencer T. Olin Winners

Senior Division 1 Champion

Barney Sutley


Senior Division 2 Champion

Billy Davis


Senior Division 3 Champion

Gary Hutchcraft


Senior Division 4 Champion

Sudhakar Injamuri


Senior Division 5 Champion

Mark Galentine