Oct 7, 2022

Senior North American Championship Results


The 1st Senior North American Championship was held in Myrtle Beach, SC from September 25th-27th, with 160 players competing from Seattle, WA to Charleston, SC.  The inaugural event would be played at Wild Wing-Avocet and Pine Lakes Country Club, with 100 players qualifying to play their final round at the Dye Club at Barefoot Resort.  Players also had the option to “double-dip” and play in an additional Senior Net division.  

In Division 1, Tony Wise (Kentucky) got off to a hot start with a 2-under par 70 at Wild Wing Avocet on Day one and he would not look back.  An even-par 70 at Pine Lakes, followed by a 3-over 75 was enough to earn a 9-shot victory and the title of the 1st Senior North American Champion.  Chris Collins (Myrtle Beach) finished runner-up, moving up 2 spots on Tuesday’s final round with a 78 to finish at +10.  Scott Patnode (Charlotte) and Park Williams (Carolina Triad) tied for 3rd in the inaugural event.  With the victory, Tony Wise would also claim the Senior Division 1 National Player of the Year honors. 

In Division 2, Pedro Montoya (Carolina Triad) would have a strong finish to earn the title of Senior North American Champion.  After a rough 1st round at Wild Wing (79), that left him 9 7 shots out of the lead, Montoya would turn it on with rounds of 72-76 to finish at +13 and earn a 4 shot victory.  Runner-up honors went to Travis Wartluft (Upstate South Carolina) and John Bradshaw (Nashville), who finished 4 shots off the pace at +17.  Paul Baker (Kentucky) shot the round of the day (74) to jump 8 spots into 4th place at +18, while Joey Todd (Myrtle Beach) and Rick Knepp (Central Pennsylvania) finished in 5th place at +19.  Pedro Montoya finished with the Senior Player of the Year honors for Division 2. 

In Division 3, Harry Jones (Virginia Capital) would find himself in the middle of the pack after day one at Wild Wing, firing an 86.  But the rest of his week would not be anything but extraordinary.  A 77 at Pine Lakes Country Club put him within striking distance going into the final round at the Dye Club at Barefoot Resort.  He followed up his 77 with the round of the day, shooting a 79 to earn a one-shot victory over Clarence Smith (Virginia Capital), who finished in solo 2nd with a 3-day total of +29.  3rd place would split between Chuck Nimmo (Virginia Capital) and Nimish Patel (Carolina Triad), who finished at +30.  Twig Wood (Mid Missouri) finished in 5th place at +34.  With his consistent play all season, Chris Minar (Myrtle Beach) would claim the 2022 National Player of the Year for Division 3. 

In Division 4, Michael Cioffi (Augusta) got off to a solid start with an 84 at Pine Lakes Country Club in Round 1.  After a round 2 88 at Wild Wing, Cioffi would be looking for something special during the final round at the Dye Club at Barefoot Resort.  A personal-best 77 in round 4 would be just that, moving him 10 spots to earn the title of Senior North American Champion!  Andy Maestas (Atlanta) would shoot an 82 to move up 9 places into second place at +40.  Daniel Henris (Carolina Triad) would make the biggest move of the day, moving up 16 places into a tie for 3rd place with Ronald LaMorte (Charlotte).  Danny Bay (Columbus) and Dolly Buenaventura (St. Louis) tied for 5th place with totals of +43.  The 2022 Senior National Player of the Year honors would belong to Dolly Buenaventura (St. Louis), after a winning streak to end the season. 

In Division 5, Chris Siam (Myrtle Beach) shot an 88 to get off to a solid start and he wouldn’t look back from there.  His final round of 94 was good enough for a 6-shot victory and the title of Senior North American Champion.  Don Hamblett (Birmingham) shot an 87 on the final day to jump 6 spots into a tie for 2nd with Calvin Beckman (Myrtle Beach) with 3-day totals of +64.  Ricky Compton (Myrtle Beach) finished in 4th place with a 3-day total of +64.  The 2022 Senior National Player of the Year would belong to Ricky Compton (Myrtle Beach) after a stellar year! 

In Senior Net, Rick Knepp (Central Pennsylvania) came out hot, shooting a 3-under 69 and then following it up with a 7-under 63 in round 2.  A 4-over par 76 in the final round would be more than enough to secure the win in difficult conditions, finishing at 6-under par and 8 shots clear of his nearest competitors.  Chuck Nimmo (Virginia Capital) and Harry Jones (Virginia Capital) finished tied for second, while Myrtle Beach’s Chris Collins finished in 4th with Michael Cioffi (Augusta) at +3.  Lonnie Peterson  (Seattle) and Clarence Smith (Virginia Capital) tied for 6th at +4, and Patrick Rodgers (Carolina Triad) finished in 8th at +5.  Pedro Montoya (Carolina Triad) and Rick Philo (Charlotte) rounded out the top-10, finishing tied for 9th at +6.  

2UNDR Challenge Results: 

  1. Christopher Wright (USGA Max)/Chuck Nimmo (USGA Max) 
  2. Christopher Wright/Steve Minder (Projekt Puddlejumper + Winston APT Headcover) 
  3. Christopher Wright ($350 Gift Card to APT Pro Shop) & Tony Wise ($190 Gift Card to APT Pro Shop – USGA Max) 
  4. Christopher Wright (FOH 2UNDR Tee – USGA Max) & Dave Baca (Projekt Puddlejumper + APT Winston Headcover) 
  5. Mike Lingenfelter/Rick Philo (Projekt Puddlejumper + APT Winston Headcover) 
  6. Christopher Denz (Projekt Puddlejumper + APT Winston Headcover) & Chuck Nimmo (USGA Max) 
  7. Phil VanGeersdaelen (Projekt Puddlejumper + APT Winston Headcover) + Rick Philo ($350 Gift Card to APT Pro Shop) 
  8. Nolan Elenz (FOH Tee + Mission Belt + Hat)/Tony Wise (USGA Max) 
  9. Lonnie Peterson/Park Williams (FOH Tee + Mission Belt + Hat) 
  10. Nimish Patel/Nikish Patel (FOH Tee + Mission Belt + Hat) 
  11. Patrick Rogers (APT Hat)/Will Johnson (APT Hat) 

                       Upcoming tournaments: 

                      Myrtle Beach Holiday Classic
                      Myrtle Beach, SC
                      December 3 & 4th, 2022

                      Disney 2023 Season Kickoff
                      Disney Resort - Lake Buena Vista, FL
                      January 18 & 19th, 2023

                      Winter Fourball Classic
                      Orange County National - Winter Garden, FL
                      January 21 & 22nd, 2023

                      Monterey Pacific Classic
                      Bayonet & Blackhorse - Seaside, CA
                      March 4 &5th, 2023

                      TOURNAMENT RESULTS

                      Senior North American Champions

                      Senior Division 1 Champion

                      Tony Wise


                      Senior Division 2 Champion

                      Pedro Montoya


                      Senior Division 3 Champion

                      Harry Jones


                      Senior Division 4 Champion

                      Michael Cioffi


                      Senior Division 5 Champion

                      Chris Siam


                      Senior Net Champion

                      Rick Knepp


                      Division 1 Senior
                      Player of the Year

                      Tony Wise


                      Division 2 Senior
                      Player of the Year

                      Pedro Montoya


                      Division 3 Senior
                      Player of the Year

                      Chris Minar


                      Division 4 Senior
                      Player of the Year

                      Dolly Buenaventura


                      Division 5 Senior
                      Player of the Year

                      Ricky Compton


                      Senior Net
                      Player of the Year

                      Chuck Nimmo