May 12, 2024

2024 Tamarack Golf Club Results


Tournament Champions

View Tournament Results
Division 1 Champion

Michael Flynn

Senior Division 1 Champion

Billy Davis

Division 2 Champion

Josh DeJarnette

Senior Division 2 Champion

Bill Stuart

Division 3 Champion

Dauffus Jackson

Senior Division 3 Champion

Schooner Fitzgerald

Division 4 Champion

Christopher Shaw

Senior Division 4 Champion

Steve Minder

Division 5 Champion

Selena Droce

Senior Division 5 Champion

Mark Galentine

    The St. Louis chapter headed to Pete Dye’s Tamarack Golf Club for an early morning double tee start on Saturday, May 11th.  The St. Louis area had sustained significant rain in the last week, with rainfall at the golf course eclipsing 6 inches.  The course staff at Tamarack spent a lot of extra time to get the golf course into shape for the event, and the greens were perfect.  Players experienced a perfect day for golf, with abundant sunshine and highs in the low to mid 70’s.

    In Division 1, Michael Flynn continued his solid play to start the season, shooting a 5-over par 76 to win by one shot over Billy Davisand Jayson Hoagland.  It came down to the tricky par-4 9th (18th hole) with all 3 players tied for the lead.  While the 9th seems like a straightforward hole, a tricky back pin gave players fits all day, and Flynn’s par would be good enough to secure a one-shot victory.  On the senior side, Billy Davis notched his first win of the 2024 campaign with a 6-over round of 77.

    In Division 2, Josh DeJarnette saw his good play of late pay off, shooting a stellar 2-over par 73 to earn a 2-shot victory over Bill StuartDeJarnette had been knocking on the door for months now with solid play but earned his way into the Autohaus BMW Winners Circle with his impressive performance.  Bill Stuart (75) finished in solo 2nd, while Scott Horton (76) continued his strong play in the 2024 campaign with a 3rd place finish.  Tim Mayer and Eric Fogleman rounded out the top 5 with rounds of 78.  On the senior side, Bill Stuart took his first trip to the Autohaus BMW Winners Circle with an impressive 75 to edge Scott Horton by a stroke.  Greg Garrett finished in 3rd place with a 79.

    In Division 3, Dauffus Jackson was eyeing his first win since being promoted to Division 3.  The 2023 Rookie of the Year, who started in Division 5 and has worked his way up to Division 3 was +4 through 14 holes and holding on to the lead.  He faced a near-impossible up and down on the 18th green, but a 2-putt bogey would be enough to earn a one-shot victory over Schooner Fitzgerald (79). Jason Stone and Mark Ralph tied for 3rd place with 80, while Jacob McEvers (81) finished in solo 5th place.  Tony Clark and Joseph Burkitt rounded out the money with rounds of 82.  On the senior side, Schooner Fitzgerald earned his first APT victory, firing a 79 to best Mark Ralph and Jason Stone by a single stroke.

    In Division 4, Christopher Shaw shot an 84 that featured 4 consecutive pars down the stretch to secure a 2-shot victory over Rei Nakamura (86)Steve Minder finished in 3rd place with a round of 87, just 3 shots behind Shaw.  Christopher Jones finished in solo 4th position with a round of 88.  Kenneth Finkbeiner and Dolly Buenaventura rounded out the top 5 with rounds of 90.  On the senior side, Steve Minderreturned to the winners circle with a round of 87, besting Kenneth Finkbeiner  and Dolly Buenaventura by 3 shots to earn the victory.

    In Division 5, Selena Droce and Josh Burnett were locked in a battle all day.  Burnett came to the difficult par-4 18th needing a par to force a playoff with Droce, and delivered.  Burnett and Droce have solidified themselves as two of the top performers in D5 this season in St. Louis.  On the first playoff hole the par 4 16th, Burnett’s drive almost found the green.  However, a miscue from there allowed Selena Droce to win the hole and take the tournament with an impressive round of 19-over 90.  Josh Burnett took solo 2nd position, while Jerry Miller, Jim Nichols and Roger Eberlein each tied for 3rd place with rounds of 93.  On the senior side, Mark Galentine returned to the winners circle with an impressive 20-over 91 to earn a 2-shot victory over Miller, Nichols and Eberlein.

    From here the tour moves to one of its toughest tests, the venerable Lake Forest Country Club in Lake St. Louis, MO.  Former host of The Gateway Nike Classic (Korn Ferry Tour), Lake Forest is known for its challenging, undulating layout and difficult green complexes.  A few spots still remain for this event, with 160 players expected to tee it up on Monday, May 20th.  Registration closes on Monday night.