Nov 11, 2023

2024 Preserve at Verdae Golf Tournament Results

Tournament Champions

View Tournament Results
Division 1 Champion

Chuck Floyd

Division 2 Champion

Jonathan Pruitt

Division 3 Champion

Chris Helton

Division 4 Champion

Frank Daniels

Division 5 Champion

Jan Kendrick

Senior Division 1 Champion

Chuck Floyd

Senior Division 2 Champion

Mike Hubert

Senior Division 3 Champion

Tim Carswell

Senior Division 4 Champion

Frank Daniels

Senior Division 5 Champion

Jan Kendrick

    Rainy and wet conditions were not enough to dampen the spirits of a sold-out field of 60 golfers on Saturday as the Upstate Amateur Players Tour held its tournament at The Preserve at Verdae Golf Club in Greenville.  

    After mid-morning, the rain showers subsided, making for a manageable day of golf. The Upstate Amateur Players Tour travels the Upstate of South Carolina and portions of North Carolina offering golfers of all skill levels a chance to compete for cash and VISA prizes at some of the premier courses in the area.  

    Saturday, the golfers encountered a stellar track situated just off I-85 in Greenville County. The 18-hole championship layout by Willard Byrd is both scenic and challenging, offering the tournament field an exceptional outing and experience.  

    Playoff was the word of the day on Saturday as nearly half of the 10-division ended with at least two players tied atop the leaderboard. The competition was great throughout the day, with several memorable moments for the players on the course.  

    Here’s a breakdown of the results from Saturday’s round at The Preserve at Verdae: 

    Division 1 – A birdie on the final hole proved to be just enough for Chuck Floyd to win Division 1 on Saturday. Floyd shot 76 to pace the field. After shooting three over on the front nine, Floyd played his final four holes in one under par to secure the victory.  

    BJ Humphries and Brandt Howard tied for second, just one shot behind as both shot 77. Brandon Pearson and Jethro Niemela tied for fourth after shooting 79.  

    Senior Division 1 – Chuck Floyd doubled up on Saturday as he also won the top spot in Senior Division 1. Floyd’s round of 76 edged Brandt Howard by just one shot in the division. Howard’s round was highlighted by four birdies on the day, including two in his final eight holes.  

    Division 2 – Playing his final five holes in one under par was an ideal ending to a solid round for Jonathan Pruitt as he took the top spot in Division 2 on Saturday with a round of 80. Following a bogey on the par-four 13th hole, Pruitt made four pars and one birdie on his way into the clubhouse.  

    Joseph Jones and Mike Hubert finished as runners-up with rounds of 82. Jones found his groove on the back nine, parring six out of his last eight holes. Hubert started his back nine with five straight pars en route to his second-place finish.  

    Matthew Hendon and Bob Grove rounded out the top-five with rounds of 84 and 87, respectively.  

    Senior Division 2 – While Mike Hubert came up a few shots shy of victory in Division 2 on Saturday, his round of 82 was good enough to take the top spot in Senior Division 2. Hubert made six pars on the back nine and highlighted the day with a birdie on the par-four 7th hole.  

    Bob Grove shot 87 to finish second. Grove parred four of his final seven holes to finish runner-up in Senior Division 2.  

    Division 3 – Eighteen holes of golf were not enough to decide a winner in Division 3 on Saturday as Chris Helton won in a playoff after shooting 81. Helton and David Huff found themselves tied after both shot nine-over par on the day.  

    Huff got off to an impressive start with an even-par round on the front nine, which included a pair of birdies. Helton’s steady day included playing his final nine holes in just two over par.  

    Darius Prysock shot 85 to finish third. A five-way tie for fourth place included Gregg Pruitt, Myron Samuels, Cody Markovich, Darrell Johnson, and Timothy Carswell, who all shot 86. 

    Senior Division 3 – A playoff was also needed in Senior Division 3 on Saturday as Timothy Carswell, Myron Samuels, and Darrell Johnson all shot 86. Carswell emerged victorious in the playoff and claimed the top prize in the division.  

    Sonny Smith finished fourth after shooting an 87. David Croston rounded out the top-five with a round of 90. 

    Division 4 – Frank Daniels used five pars in his final eight holes to reach a playoff, which he would win and claim the top-spot in Division 4 on Saturday with a round of 89. Daniels strung together three straight pars on the inward nine before a pair of bogeys. He finished the round with a par on the 18th hole to reach the playoff.  

    Jimmy Sullivan finished runner-up following the playoff. Sullivan parred four out of his first five holes before shooting 44 on the front nine. Gary Nivens shot 90 and finished third. Jonathan Gundana shot 94 to finish fourth.  

    The top-five also included Raymond Hoerr and Daniel Cash, who both shot 96. 

    Senior Division 4 – Frank Daniels also won Senior Division 4 on Saturday after a playoff broke the tie between him and Jimmy Sullivan. Both players posted rounds of 89. 

    Gary Nivens was close behind with a round of 90 to finish in third place. Daniel Cash and James Smith rounded out the top-five with rounds of 96 and 97, respectively.  

    Division 5 – A round of 96 highlighted by a birdie on the par-three 2nd hole was enough for Jan Kendrick to take the first-place spot in Division 5 on Saturday. Kendrick shot 47 on the front nine before starting the back nine with a par and two bogeys.  

    Eric Barnes shot 99 and finished second. Barnes parred two of his first three holes on the afternoon to get off to a solid start. Michael McGill shot 100 and finished third, followed by Danny Sullivan, who shot 101 and finished fourth. Michael Addison rounded out the top-five after posting a round of 106. 

    Senior Division 5 – Jan Kendrick’s round of 96 was also enough to take the top spot in Senior Division 5 on Saturday. Kendrick outlasted second-place finisher Danny Sullivan, who shot 101. Tim Kunkel and Dick Jenkins shot 107 to finish in a tie for third place.