Jun 17, 2023

2023 Rose Bowl Golf Tournament Results

Next to the Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, CA is Brookside Golf Club, one of the busiest golf courses in all of Los Angelas.  The course was in excellent shape and provided a perfect mixture of risk and reward.  Overcast clouds gave way to sun and what became a great day for golf.  We had early tee times starting at 7am which was new for our tour but seemed to work great. We had 3 new divisional winners, one of which drove down from the state of Utah.   

Division 1 

In Division 1, JJ Standberry jumped out to an early lead but was unable to hang on, as tour newcomber and college golfer Ryan Huang (Rancho Santa Margarita} came in with a score of 77 to take first place. It was not decided until the 18th hole as Nathan Hoffman (Sherman Oaks, CA) needed to make par on the last hole to bring it to a playoff but was only able to make bogey leaving Ryan with the win and Nathan with second.    

Division 2 

Division 2 saw a newcomer to the tour playing his second event Aaron Alvarado play a great round of golf only having a rough time on two holes.  He held it together for a 5 shot win with a score of 77 and his putter was solid all day.  Si Thu Htun (Chino Hills, CA,) and John Ballew (Ventura, CA) this year's Ojai champion finished tied for second with 82’s.   

Division 3 

Division 3 was our largest field of the day with 11 players vying for the Rose Bowl Silver Plate.  This is our closest player of the year race and currently third in the points Scott Christensen (Escondido CA) loves playing Brookside!  He won at this course in January of 2022 and again he shot a great round of 83 to take first place and 450 points to win the Rose Bowl Championship bringing him within 100 points of the lead for Player of the year.  Coming in second was last year’s Player of the John Dwyer III (Ventura) and Todd Hopkins (Newhall, CA) was third.  

Division 4 

Jess David (Pleasant View Utah) made the trip down and it was worth it, shooting a great round of 85 in Division 4 and taking home the silver Plate.  Tour newcomer and first-time playing Ryan Maramis (Corona, CA) took second and had a great time and raved of the excellent tournament and relationships. Marty Rhinehart (Upland, CA) was third.  

Division 5 

Division 5 Had one of its largest fields of the season and it was a close battle until the end, but a 98 by Tommy Weatherby (Sun City) was good enough for first place and vault Tommy into the lead for player of the year in Division 5! Dennis McZeal (Fontana, CA) last year’s Player of the year in D5 came in just 1 shot back at 99.    

Senior net 

Our Senior net division was close all tournament and two bourbon glass trophies were on the line at this tour stop.  Scott Christensen (Escondido, CA)with his 83 in Division 3 gave him a net score of 74 which was good enough to win.  Todd Victoria (Dana Point, CA) was second with a 76, and back-to-back placing for Todd in Senior Net.  


Rose Bowl Winners

Division 1 Champion

Ryan Huang


Division 2 Champion

Aaron Alvarado


Division 3 Champion

Scott Christensen


Division 4 Champion

Jesse Davis


Division 5 Champion

Tommy Weatherby


Senior Net Champion

Scott Christensen