Feb 25, 2023

2023 Governors Towne Club Tournament Results


The Amateur Players Tour-Atlanta hosted a sold-out field of 60 players at Governors Towne Club in Acworth, GA. A big thank you to the staff of Governors Towne Club for treating our members as they would their own. 

Division 1 was a close battle most of the round with four different players either holding the lead or being one shot back at any given time. Jordan Jones, visiting from the Birmingham Chapter, played the last four holes in one under and posted a score of 73. TJ Elgin and Charles Hartley both needing match that, played the final four in even to give Jordan is first victory in Division 1. Jordan was crowned champion and awarded a $220 Visa Gift Card. 

Division 2 seen another Birmingham Chapter player taking the victory. Terry Szymczyk carded a 79 to cruise to a six stroke victory over James Davis and Sean Pierce. Terry was crowned champion as well and finished 2nd in our Senior Net event and was awarded a total of $345. 

Division 3 was the biggest field of the contest with 20 players. Dophie Thomas led the pack by carding a score of 84 to take home the victory and the $310 that went with it. There was tight battle between Todd Cunningham and Andy Maestas for second. Todd used a par on the final hole to secure second place and $170. Andy finished third and also tied for 3rd in Senior Net to take home $145. 

Division 4 seen another first time winner with Curtis Baugh carding an 86 to take a two shot victory over Will Houston visiting from the Nashville Chapter. Curtis used a eight pars and one birdie on the day to complete a very impressive round in the tough conditions for the day. Curtis was awarded the trophy and $265 to add to it. 

In Division 5, Johnathan Hunt is starting right where he left off from the fall wraparound schedule. Johnathan posted a score of 95 to take the four shot victory. Jeff Noel, visiting from the Birmingham Chapter, finished 2nd with a 99. Johnathan was crowned champion and awarded $190. 

Next up for the Atlanta Chapter, the first National Major to be hosted in our own backyard. The Southern Brawl @ Bears Best will take place March 25-26 with a max field of 144 players. That event currently has only 14 spots remaining. There will also be a Friday Stableford on March 24 @ Bears Best that has roughly 20 spots left. Don’t wait to long and be caught on the waitlist for either event. 


Governors Towne Club Winners

Division 1 Champion

Jordan Jones


Division 2 Champion

Terry Szymczyk


Division 3 Champion

Dophie Thomas


Division 4 Champion

Curtis Baugh


Division 5 Champion

Jonathan Hunt


Senior Net Champion

Charles Hartley