May 21, 2023

2023 Coyote Creek Golf Tournament Results

Proving that the weather can be nice in Central Illinois, 29 players took on a tough Coyote Creek golf course in beautiful conditions.  Eagles were flying as there were two hole outs on par 4s.  First, Jordan Barnett holed it out on 1 for eagle and Rocky Zeigler holed out on 16 for eagle. 

In Division 1 Nick Heller and Andrew Wuethrich were tied through 16 holes at two over par but a birdie on 17 put Nick in the lead for good and a birdie on 18 capped a three shot victory over both Andrew and Brit Bothast.   

Division 2 saw the most solid play of the day as RJ Trimpe made three bogies and three birdies for an even par 72 to take home the win.  Rocky Zeigler aided by a hole out eagle at the 16th hole had 75 edging Derek Camp for second.  

Division 3 also saw fireworks as Vincent Greci Jr took a 2 shot lead into the back nine but a two shot swing on the tough 10th hole drew Nick Lenz even with 8 to play.  The two went back and forth until Nick was able to pull ahead for good with a birdie on the par 5 14th.  He ended with 83 and a one shot victory over Vincent Greci Jr.  

Division 4 saw a familiar face on top of the leaderboard as Michael Van Spankeren won for the second time in the 2023 season with 85.  Michael was in a battle with Jason Holder throughout the round as Jason had a one shot lead through 14.  Both players birdied the par 4 15th and Jason’s lead grew to two after Michael bogeyed 16.  When Jason made triple on 17 the lead flipped, and Michael was able to close out the victory. 

In Division 5 John Lenz held a three shot lead over Stuie Stuart at the turn but his solid play down the stretch helped him pull away with 95. 

Seven players double dipped in the Senior Net division as Mike Vallosio pulled out the victory with his net 70 score.   


Coyote Creek Winners

Division 1 Champion

Nick Heller


Division 2 Champion

RJ Trimpe


Division 3 Champion

Nick Lenz


Division 4 Champion

Mike Van Spankeren


Division 5 Champion

John Lenz


Senior Net Champion

Mike Vallosio