Tanglewood Golf Course Tournament Results

We had 64 players on the course where so much history has been made. Tanglewood Champions Course hosted the 1974 PGA Championship. The players enjoyed the firm and fast greens on a warm July morning. 

In Division 1 the players that battled towards the end were Chris Berry and Will Morgan. The lead between the 2 players was never more than 3 shots all day. In the end Will Morgan cards a 71(+1) to win the event by 2 shots over Chris Berry 73(+2). Morgan win puts him great position to defend his Local Player of the Year title. 

In Division 2 we had several scores that were under 80. The player set chase to catch 1 player in particular. Dave Field set the pace early by carding a 70(E) round. The players fell short of catch Field but Dwayne Pope and Terry Newsome finished 2nd and Mike Martin finished 4th place for the final prize spot. 

In Division 3 we had a very interesting tight race between several members from the Carolina Triad Chapter and Charlotte Chapter. The competition went all the way to the final hole. In conclusion Trinity Manning of Winston Salem, NC shot 80(+10) to hold off Ricky Siler Jr., Rob Andrews and Ronnie Thorton. The scorecard playoff results in Siler 2nd Andrews 3rd and Thorton 4th. 

In Division 4 does PLAYOFF mean anything to you! Well, it should because we had one with Charlotte member Roy Santonil and Chris Tuggle. The players finished up at 85(+15) after 18 holes. The players set off to decide the winner and Roy Santonil was victorious after the 1st playoff hole. 

In Division 5 the Playoff trends continues, Andy Alcon and Keith Thomas shot 95(+25) to earn the opportunity to play extra holes. Thomas was in a playoff at his last event. The playoff took 2 holes and Thomas was victorious this time around. 

Thanks again for the support 

Next Event: The Neuse/River Ridge July9-July10 2022 


Tanglewood Winners

Division 1 Champion

Will Morgan


Division 2 Champion

Dave Field


Division 3 Champion

Trinity Manning


Division 4 Champion

Roy Santonil


Division 5 Champion

Keith Thomas