Oct 3, 2021

Carolina Coast Local Tour Finals Results

The 2021 Tour Championship was held on Oct. 2nd and 3rd,2021. The first round was played at The Pearl Golf Links in Calabash, NC. The course was in amazing shape. Travis and his staff were incredible. The outside staff is probably the best we have had all season. The Tour Championship was the last event of our 2021 Inaugural season for the Carolina Coast Chapter. The weekend was a very important weekend for our members. We crowned the Player of the Year for all 5 Divisions after the completion of the Championship. Each Player of the Year winners for the Open Divisions received an IXXO Staff Bag with Player of the Year embroidered on the bag, along with a $200 APT Visa gift card and will have a flag with their picture on it displayed at all of our events in 2022. The Runner ups for each division will receive their 2022 membership paid for. Senior Player of the Year winners will be receiving a paid membership for the 2022 season. Special thanks to Srixon/Cleveland/IXXO, Ron Mercaldi for their sponsorship for our Player of the Year awards. Special thanks to Don Hepp at the Hackler Golf Club for his hard work to get the bags done in time.

Division 1 had a very strong field. We also had our newest member, Stephen Pippin playing in his first event of the year as a member. I have known him for several years now and we are very fortunate to have as a member of our tour. Pip just was crowned for the 2nd time Robeson County Amateur Champion. Congrats to him. He is a great addition to the family and will help our Div. 1 grow even more. Chris Collins grabbed the lead early in round 1 and never really looked back. Pip and Travis made a run at him in final round but Chris played steady and even after slipping a little on the finishing 9 on Sunday, held his composer and came away with the Tour Championship title. He finished with a 154 total. Pip finished 2nd with a 159 total while Scott Hughs who had an incredible year carded the best round of the Championship on Sunday (72) to come all the way back to finish 3rd. The POY points leader, Travis (Elvis) Powell finished 4th. That was just good enough to claim the Player of the Year for Division 1. Travis had 5 wins, 2 runners-up and 3 3rd place finishes for the season. Chris Collins finished 2nd. He had 4 wins in 2021. Scott Hughes finished 3rd and had 2 wins and 3 runners-up finishes. Phil Pfeffier finished 4th and only played in 4 events. We had the most competitive Div. 1 we have ever had.

Division 2 was a battle to the end. Chase Sheally and Joey Todd both finished round 1 at +9. It was back and forth all day. Not only was the Tour Championship on the line but also the Player of the Year was as well. Lee Dixon, the current points leader, decided to take himself out of the running for POY. Lee is such a valuable part of our tour, a very close friend, sponsor for our Chapter and now a Chapter Owner for the Charleston, SC area. This was such a generous gesture on his part. With Lee coming out, Joey held a 377 point lead heading into the Tour Championship. Sunday's round began with a bang. Joey birded the first two holes with Chase making bogey on the first. Joey was all of a sudden out to a 2 stroke advantage. Joey went to sleep and with a triple on the par 5 3rd it was all square again. Chase walked off #9 with a 2 stroke lead. Joey pulled within 1 with a birdie on #11. With Chase making double on 12 and 13 the tide had turned and Joey had a 1 shot lead. Chase gathered himself and birdied 3 of his last 5 holes to capture his 3rd win of the season and most important one as well. He edged out Joey by 1 shot. (81) Lee Dixon finished 3rd with firing the best round in Div 2 on Sunday (78). With the win Chase came back to take the Player of The Year honor by only 26 points. I have never had a race so close. It actually came down to the last hole. Joey was runner-up, Don Sheads finished 3rd and Jimmy Starrett 4th. Congrats to all.

Division 3 actually had to go to a playoff to decide the winner. Jack Curry (Mr 2UNDR) held a 4 shot lead heading into the final round. He carded a 80 in his first round. When they had completed the first 9 on Sunday, Jack's lead had grown to 6 shots. Things quickly changed on the final 9. Justin Gainey got hot and heading into their final hole he was only 1 shot back to Jack. jack bogeyed #18 and with Justin making par they were headed to extra holes. Jack was able to gather himself and when with a par on the first playoff hole. They both ended with a 165 total. Jeff McGirt finished tied for 3rd place with James (Dodd) Daniel playing with a bad hip. With his tie for 3rd Dodd took home the POY Title. Dodd had an incredible season for sure. He started out in Div 4 but was promoted to Div.3 in ea. rly spring. He ended up with 7 wins for the season. Jack Curry with his win climbed from 4th to take 2nd place in POY race. Jeff McGirt finished 3rd. Congrats to all.

Division 4 was also a battle to the end. Brian Raymond came into the Tour Championship in 3rd place in points for Player of the Year. Brian was coming off his win in the Barefoot Finals at the Dye club a couple weeks ago. Brian held 3 shot lead over the eventual runner-up in the Tour Championship Jack Pereira after round `1. Jack closed the gap to 2 strokes after their front 9 and when Brian made 8 on #11 all of a sudden Jack was the new leader. They went into #18 all tied up. Brian was able to get up and down for par to capture his first Tour Championship. Jack finished runner-up with Chris Huge rounding out the top 3. With the win, Brian was able to come all the way from 3rd place in points to capture the POY title. He edged out Chris Huge but 101 points. This was a battle to the end. Congrats to all.

Division 5 was captured by none other that Calvin Beckman This was Calvin's second win of the year. He edged out Ricky Compton by 5 shots. They both played great on 2 very difficult courses. Calvin began the Tour Championship trailing Travis Shively in the POY race. With the win Calvin was able to edge Travis out to Capture the POY title for Div. 5. They both had a great year for sure.

Congrats to all of our players and members for an incredible season. Look out 2022. Membership is open so go ahead and renew your membership. All returning members will receive a $25 tour credit if they join before Dec. 31, 2021. Our first event for the 2022 season will be Nov 13 or 14, 2021.


Tour Finals Winners

Division 1 Champion

Chris Collins


Division 2 Champion

Chase Shealy

golf tournaments for amateur golfers

Division 3 Champion

Jack Curry

amateur golfers in myrtle beach

Division 4 Champion

Brian Raymond

golfers in south carolina tournaments

Division 5 Champion

Calvin Beckman

golfers in amateur tournaments south carolina

D1 Player of the Year

Travis Powell

amateur players tour golf tournament

D2 Player of the Year

Chase Shealy

amateur golf tournaments for south carolina

D3 Player of the Year

Dodd Daniel

golf tournaments for amateurs in south carolina

D4 Player of the Year

Brian Raymond

golf tournaments in north carolina

D5 Player of the Year

Calvin Beckman

myrtle beach amateur golf tournaments