May 7, 2023

2023 Legacy at Lanier Golf Tournament Results


The Amateur Players Tour-Atlanta Chapter hosted the local one-day major at Legacy Golf at Lanier Islands. A limited, sold-out field of forty players battled it out for a total prize pool of over $2500. Legacy was in fantastic shape and the weather was even better. 

In Division 1, Derek Nicholson posted a + (74) to cruise to a six-shot victory over Clay McDonald. Derek stayed steady all day and made par after par and limited the bogies. Derek was awarded the trophy and $280 in prizes. 

Division 2 also had a clear front runner all round long. Jantzen McDonald posted a +3 (75) to take a five-stroke victory. Jantzen countered five bogeys with two birdies on the day. Parker Faircloth finished in 2nd after a run of bogeys on the final nine. Jantzen was awarded the trophy and $300 in prizes.  

Division 3 had two players that separated themselves from the pack. Frederick Velazquez and James Dillard made the turn tied and both finished the back nine with four bogeys. The difference maker happened on the difficult 12th hole with Frederick making birdie to help propel him to the one-shot victory. Frederick was awarded the trophy and $330 in prizes. 

Division 4 was another contest that had a clear front runner. Kip Moore posted a +15 (87) to take a six-stroke victory over Parker Berry. Kip had some struggles late in the round but managed to par three of the final four to pull away. Kip was awarded the trophy and $280 in prizes. 

Division 5 did not disappoint as all the fireworks on the day happened here. Doug Gibbs used a hole in one on the Par 4, 3rd hole. Yes, we said that right, a hole in one on a Par 4. The hole plays 250 yards if you go across the lake but plays nearly 375 yards if you go around the lake. Doug chose to take the risk and it paid off. Doug ended with a score of +13 (85) to take the one-shot victory. Doug “ACE” Gibbs was awarded the trophy and $240 in prizes.  

Next up for the Atlanta Chapter is another member only, limited event on May 20th, 2023. Limited spots are still available. Waitlist will form once the field becomes full.


Legacy at Lanier Winners

Division 1 Champion

Derek Nicholson


Division 2 Champion

Jantzen McDonald


Division 3 Champion

Frederick Velazquez


Division 4 Champion

Kip Moore


Division 5 Champion

Doug Gibbs


Senior Net Champion

James Dillard