Apr 2, 2023

2023 Highland Park Golf Tournament Results


The Amateur Players Tour-Birmingham continued the 2023 tournament season at the oldest course in Alabama, Highland Park Golf Course located in the heart of downtown Birmingham, AL on April 2ND, 2023.  This Stableford scoring style event was the perfect fit for the challenges laid out by this Par 70, 5600 yard (from the tips) course, as birdies were the difference makers across all flights. 

Division 2 was a tight race through most of the day.  However tour veteran Kevin Schrum was able to overcome a double bogie on hole number one to post a grand total of 37 points and take a 3 point victory over the field.  Kevin was crowned champion and was awarded the trophy and $192 in prizes.  

Division 3 was a close battle all day long between two different players. Jason Harbin started his season off strongly by taking advantage of the scoring format and posting 4 birdies on the day, however Jeff Taylor continued his hot start to the season and out did Jason by posting 5 birdies of his own, the firth of which on the last hole bested Jason for the win.  For his efforts Jeff earned the trophy and the $216 in prizes.   

Division 4 saw Birmingham member Dennis Antkowiak and Atlanta Member Curtis Baugh battle it out.  In the end, Dennis was able to hold off Curtis and take home the win.  For his efforts Dennis took home the trophy and $192 in prizes.  

Division 5 saw another Birmingham vs Atlanta showdown, as Don Hamblett, Birmingham, and Gabe Gamadanis, Atlanta, battled down to the last hole.  Don managed to bogie the last hole which gave him a 1 point victory over Gabe.  Don and was awarded the trophy and the $264 prize that went with it.  

The next stop for Birmingham is at one of the premier events on the schedule, a 2-Day Major at the private Burning Tree Country Club, located in Decatur, AL.  This event will be hosted on April 29TH and 30TH, with tee times beginning at 10:00 AM on Saturday and 8:00 AM on Sunday. The field is starting to take shape and limited spots are still remaining.  


Highland Park Winners

Division 2 Champion

Kevin Schrum


Division 3 Champion

Jeff Taylor


Division 4 Champion

Dennis Antkowiak


Division 5 Champion

Don Hamblett