Jun 4, 2022

Two Waters Championship Golf Tournament Results

The APT Rocky Mountain Chapter headed to the extreme north fringe of Utah for the 2022 Two Waters Championship.  A two-day, 36-hole, individual stroke play event saw our players compete for a double purse/double points event for Player of the Year races at Birch Creek & Logan River Golf Clubs.   
Mike Membrila (145) took home the Two Waters trophy paddle firing a combined two over par to win Division 1.  

The best battle of the weekend ended up in Division 2. Reigning RMC Player of the Year Jeff Clifford (153) raced out of the gate on day 1 and led the field by 5 strokes heading to day 2 at Logan River. Tyler Moore (156) would not give in however and began to chip away at the lead over the final back nine.  Moore would tie the affair on the 11th hole and take the lead with a birdie on 13. Clifford regained the lead with a birdie on the 15th hole. Moore birdied the 16th to square the top of the leaderboard once again. The par 3, 201yd 17th hole would prove to be the difference maker however, as Moore faltered with a triple bogey to Clifford's par. This is Clifford's first tour win of the 2022 season. Jay DeJesus (161) and tour rookie, Taylon Johanson (161) tied for third.  

Mani Kottaichamy (164) won Division 3 Champion honors, winning his field by 3 strokes.  It was Kottaichamy's second win of the year (Red Rock Championship).  Tour newcomer, Jesse Strong (167) continued his strong play on tour and finished in the runner-up position.  Joe Salisbury (168) finished in third place and Andrew Kuhre (169) rounded out the money line in 4th place. 

Division 4 featured the biggest comback of the weekend as Shiv Kumar Subramaniam (183) erased a 5-shot, first day deficit and won by a single stroke over Bob Woitalla (184).  It was the second straight win for Subramaniam (Toana Vista).  

Sumanth Dwarakinath (185) is a first-time winner on the APT as he used a stellar final round 91 to best the field by five shots.  Mike Eames (190), the day 1 leader, finished in 2nd place.  Mark Ingalls (193) and Bret Strong (194) finished third and fourth respectively and inside the money line.  
The big moment of the tournament went to Mike Brown went he stepped to the Par-3 8th tee at Logan River GC, laid his Mizuno MP22 5-iron onto his Titleist ProV1.  201 yards later and the ball rolled into the cup for his first ever Hole in One and the third Ace on the Amateur Players Tour - Rocky Mountain Chapter.  Mike Brown is a member of the national APT Hole-in-one Club Contest.  WIth the 8th hole being the hardest handicapped and longest par 3 of the day, it was the $2500 hole, winning Mike a nice sizeable check from the APT!   Mike plans to use his winnings for an upcoming vacation to Florida. 

Super Skins were won by Jeff Clifford, Jay DeJesus, Andrew Kuhre, Wayne Kelley, Troy Hill, Robert Hill x2, Mark Amann, Mike Brown, Coby Duffin, and Tyler Moore.   CTP winners on the weekend were Jeff Clifford, Mike Membrila, Robert Hill, Jay DeJesus, Josh Henshaw, Mike Brown x2, and Bob Woitalla.  In the two-man best ball side contest, Mark Amann paired with Jay Demtrak via blind draw and won a pair of Rangefinders from BlueTees for shooting -13, just two shots better than Casey Bice and Wayne Kelley. 


Two Waters Winners

Division 1 Champion

Mike Membrila

utah golf tournaments

Division 2 Champion

Jeff Clifford

rocky mountain golf

Division 3 Champion

Mani Kottaichamy

amateur golf utah

Division 4 Champion

Shiv kumar Subramaniam

rocky mountain golf

Division 5 Champion

Sumanth Dwarakinath

west coast amateur golf