May 15, 2021

Spencer T. Olin Golf Course Results


On Saturday, the St. Louis chapter headed to the Arnold Palmer designed Spencer T. Olin Golf Course in Alton, IL, host of the 1999 USGA Public Links Championship.  Players faced firm conditions, with the course having hosted a US Open Qualifier a few days prior.  120 players teed it up on a beautiful Saturday in St. Louis.

In Division 1, Eric King (Kentucky) made the trip down to St. Louis to have a good battle with Kevin Erxleben.  King made a clutch birdie on 17 to secure a one-shot victory over Erxleben with a 73.  Erxleben finished in solo 2nd with a 74.  Newly promoted Michael Hornak, Weston Horberg, and Steve Hasenfratz all finished tied for 3rd with rounds of 79.

In Division 2, Nate Hampton finished birdie-birdie on 17 and 18 to secure a one shot win over tour rookie Mike Lingenfelter, who had the lead in the clubhouse for a long time with a 4-over par 76.  Mike Mervis also finished tied for 2nd with a 76 and another strong performance on tour.  Greg Shepherd from St. Peters finished in solo 4th with a round of 77 while Chad Crawford and Dave Oleksa tied for 5th with rounds of 79.

In Division 3, Andy Cherry and Kyle Fuehne battled it out all day for the victory and the first prize.  Andy Cherry had the steady hand down the stretch, making par on the last 5 holes to secure a one-shot victory with a 77 over Kyle Fuehne.  Fuehne finished in solo 2nd with a 78 and another strong finish on tour.  Kory Hannah and Kent Taylor finished T-3 with solid rounds of 80, while Peter Allen of nearby Grafton finished in 5th with a round of 81.

In Division 4, 18 holes wasn't enough to crown a champion after Jason Stone and Kenny Jackson shot rounds of 83.  On the 3rd playoff hole, Stone was able to make par on the difficult par-4 to secure the title.  Jason Harvey finished in solo 3rd with an 84, while Rick Johnson of Decatur, IL finished in 4th with 85.

In Division 5, Mike Pittroff returned to good form, firing an 87 to earn a one-shot victory over Sudhakar Injamuri from Wildwood, who finished in second place with an 88.  Linda Bozada and Jim Seibert finished tied for 3rd with an 89.  Gregory Miller finished in solo 5th with a round of 92.

From here, the tour moves to the Quarry at Crystal Springs in Maryland Heights, MO on Sunday.  Tee Times start at 7am.  Don't miss your chance to pick up valuable points on the #roadtopinehurst.  Also, registration is closing soon for the Memorial Day Major at GreyStone in Nashville.  GreyStone is the host of the Tennessee State Open and the GRock Open, which annually hosts some of the best amateurs in the world.

Net Game Results:

1. Jim Billadeau -5 $150

2. Mike Pittroff -4 $115

3. Chad Crawford -2 $80

T-4. Paul Spotanski, Mike Lingenfelter, Mark Lamoureux, Chuck Schranck, Kory Hannah -1 $29



Spencer T. Winners

Division 1

Eric King

Amateur Players Tour St. Louis Missouri

Division 2 Champion

Nate Hampton

Golf Tournament St. Louis Missouri

Division 3 Champion

Andy Cherry

Amateur Players Golf Tour Winner

Division 4 Champion

Jason Stone

Winner of Golf Tournament at Spencer T. Olin

Division 5 Champion

Mike Pittroff

Amateur Players Tour Dallas Texas