Aug 28, 2022

Gateway National Golf Link Tournament Results


On Sunday, the Amateur Players Tour travelled to Gateway National Golf Links for a golf tournament at one of St. Louis’ top-rated public golf courses.  Gateway National has hosted some of the top amateur golf tournaments in the area, including the Eastside Amateur as well as the Monday qualifier for the Korn Ferry tour stop at Panther Creek Country Club.  93 players teed it up across 5 divisions, as the Player of the Year races are heating up, with $1,000 USGA Max Prize Packages on the line at the Local Finals on September 17-18 at Annbriar Golf Course in Waterloo, IL. 

In Division 1, Nate McCutcheon increased his points lead with an impressive round of 2-under par 69, lapping the field on a windy day that would prove challenging for the field.  Kentucky’s Barney Sutley and Steve Hasenfratz each tied for 2nd with 6-over par rounds of 77.  McCutcheon has grown a sizable lead in the Player of the Year race in Division 1, with major wins at the Lone-Star Shootout at TPC San Antonio, APT Public Links Championship at Annbriar, and the Independence Open at Big Cedar Lodge plus 4 wins on the St. Louis tour.  It’s still anyone’s game though, as the Local Finals feature a huge increase in points available. 

In Division 2, Marco Tallerico made a late charge in what is turning out to be one of the most competitive divisions in the country, making eagle on 18 to vault him into a second-place finish with a round of 76.  Billy Davis continued his solid play with a 3-over par round of 74 to earn the victory.  Davis vaults into the lead for National Player of the Year, while locked in a tight race for local player of the year with Joel Miller heading down the stretch run.  Franklin County Champion Matt Nemnich continued his solid play, finishing in a tie for 3rd place with Mark Donovan with rounds of 77.  2021 Player of the Year David Adams rounds out the Top 5. 

In Division 3, storms would become a factor as a popup thunderstorm would shorten the event.  The last group finished 11 holes, so results are based on the 11 common holes played.  Matt Wilson picked up his first APT win with a solid 4-over par performance.  2nd place went to Tony Quartuccio who was +5 and 3rd went to Alek Uransel (+6).  3 players tied for 4th place with rounds of +7, Michael Konuch, Simay Souvannarath and Will Allen.  Simay Souvannarath holds onto the lead in the St. Louis Player of the Year race followed closely by Michael Konuch and Greg Miller.  With so many players close to the lead, the D3 Player of the Year race is wide open heading into the final two events. 

In Division 4, players would only be able to finish 9 holes.  Paul Spotanski earned his second win of the season (Pevely Farms) with a +7 43 on the front nine.  There was a 6-way tie for 2nd place with 44 on the front nine: Allen Starnes, Dolly Buenaventura, Rick Povis, Steve Minder, Steve Middendorf and Ben Bujnak.  Steve Middendorf currently holds the lead in the Player of the Year race after the promotion of Rick Johnson based on his great improvement this year!  Middendorf is followed closely by Jesse Baumann, Mike Scalera, Allen Starnes and Steve Minder.  The last 2 events will be fun to watch as the Division 4 race is extremely close. 

In Division 5, 9 holes would be completed and a champion crowned.  Selena Droce returned to the winners circle, shooting a 46 on the front nine.  Stuie Stuart finished in second place with a 47.  Jim Seibert, Clay Ebert, and Andrew Holmes tied for 3rd with rounds of 48.  Jerry Miller holds onto a slim lead in the Division 5 Player of the Year race over Mike Pittroff, Jim Seibert and Selena Droce.  There will certainly be high drama in Division 5 over the last 2 events as players battle it out over the $1,000 USGA Max Season-Long Bonus Prize Pool. 

The next tour stop is Sunday, September 11th at Far Oaks Golf Club  in Caseyville, IL.  Tee times will start at 10am and the entry fee is $120 and includes greens fees, cart fees, use of practice facility, and prize pool entry.  Registration closes on Sunday, September 4th. 


Gateway Winners

Division 1 Champion

Nate McCutcheon


Division 2 Champion

Billy Davis


Division 3 Champion

Matt Wilson


Division 4 Champion

Paul Spotanski


Division 5 Champion

Selena Droce