Jun 5, 2022

Barefoot Resort Golf Tournament #1 Results

The 2022 Barefoot Challenge began on Sunday, June 5. This is a series of 4 events and will end on Sept. 11th at the Dye Club. The overall points winner after the Finals will receive a $500 Visa Gift Card.  The first event on Sunday was played on the Love course. Dan and his staff had the course in immaculate shape. We had a down poor late Saturday but the course held up and we were even able to ride the fairways. We sold out early in the week at 48 but Dan and Dave were able to give us 3 more tee times and we were able to get the players on waiting list in the field for a total of 60 players.  
All Winners received a crystal trophy and all players finishing in the money, received payout in Visa Gift Cards. The Total Prize Fund paid out was incredible, $1700. Not too bad for 60 players. Skins and Pins pot was $1110 
Div 1 – 7 players started the day battling for the crown.  Eric King from the Kentucky Chapter coming off his win at the 2UNDR Memorial Day Classic last weekend at True Blue/Caledonia continued his steady play. He held the lead the entire day until the 18th hole. He held a 2 shot lead but when his approach shot into the par 5 hit pin high but sucked back into the hazard things changed. He and newcomer Rich Montgomery playing in his first event on the APT finished all square at +3. Eric took the crown on the 2nd playoff hole. Chad Cody finished 3rd Mark Wright and Chris Collins finished tied for 4th. Eric received $110 and Rich $30. 
Div 2 – 6 players were in Div 2. Don Sheads (+6) one of our Charter members edged out newcomer Sean Moore who just moved to the beach by 3 strokes. Frank Censullo and Travis Wartluft tied for 3rd at +12. Don received $120 for the win. 
Div 3 – 10 players competed for title and it took 20 holes to crown the winner. Jack Pereira made the turn at -1 and held a 4 shot lead over Cliff Marcum. Cliff played steady on the back 9 and finished at +6. He had to wait around for about 45 minutes to see how Jack would finish. Jack ended up making a double on 17 and all of a sudden they were all square. After Jack made a par on 18 they had to head to #1 for a playoff. Cliff won on the 2nd hole. Chris Minar and Danny Hause finished tied for 3rd. Cliff received $140 and Jack $60.  
Div 4 - 17 players started the day.  David Swimm who has been battling injuries all season played his best round of the season. He made the turn at 39 and held a 4 shot lead over Jamie Costanzo and Gene Lance. Jamie came storming back and played solid on back and closed the gap. David held on and finished at +11, 1 shot ahead of Jamie. Gene finished 3rd with Chris Huge finishing 4th. David won $210, Jamie $80, Gene $50.  
Div 5 We had our largest Div 5 group of the season. 20 players started the day competing for the crown. Chris Siam took the lead early and never looked back. He carded his career best (85) and won by 4 strokes over Jerry Anderson from Virginia Capital Chapter. Welcome back to Div 4 Chris. Joe Levin was a hardcore golfer on Sunday. He played in the GSGT event at Long Bay in the morning and rushed over to make his tee time and finished 3rd and Travis Shively took 4th. Chris received $220 for the win. Jerry $100, Joe $50 and Travis $30 
Senior Divisions, Winners received Visa Gift Cards. 
Division 2 – 4 Players. Don Sheads $80  
Division 3 – 6 Players. Jack Pereira $90, Chris Minar $30 
Division 4 – 13 Players. Jamie Costanzo $140, Chris Huge $80, Brian Raymond $40 
Division 5 – 7 Players. Chris Siam $100, Joe Levin $40 
Skins are listed on Web Page results. Total of $1110 given out for Skins and Pins. 
CTP Winners $52 each  
#3 – Chris Collins; #9 Sean Moore; #11 Frank Censullo; #15 Chad Cody 
50/50 Winner – Ralp Perritano $152,  
Thanks again for all of your support. Our next event will be on Saturday June 18th at World Tour Golf Links. Get registered today. We have sold out our last 2 events and let’s make it 3.  


Barefoot #1 Winners

Division 1 Champion

Eric King


Division 2 Champion

Don Sheads


Division 3 Champion

Cliff Marcum


Division 4 Champion

David Swimm


Division 5 Champion

Chris Siam