May 4, 2024

2024 Nob North Golf Tournament Results

Tournament Champions

View Tournament Results
Division 1 Champion

Tim Saunders

Division 2 Champion

Adam Wahl

Division 3 Champion

Shawn Powers

Division 4 Champion

Chip Kirkland

Division 5 Champion

Mitchell McDannald

Senior Net Champion

Mike Wilkins

    East TN chapter traveled to Cohutta, GA. Saturday 4 May for our event at Nob North.  The weather was warm and muggy after a lot of local rain and thunderstorms, and it was cart path only so plenty of walking was in the players forecast. 

    Division 1 Had a runaway as Tim Saunders eased his way to a trouble free two under par 70 that included only two bogeys on the day. 

    Johnny Pierce started with a solid 38 on the front nine to take a 4 stroke lead In Division 2. Things started getting closer in the beginning of the back nine, but Johnny was hanging on to his lead.  Charles (Adam) Wahl managed to creep up to a tie on 13 and again on 16/17 before taking the win on 18 with a final score of 79.  Runners up with a pair of 80’s were Johnny Pierce and Mike Wilkins 

    Division 3 had Shawn Powers shoot a terrific front nine 37 and a two stroke lead at the turn.  Things were neck and neck as Brad Wahl was making a comeback and even tied it up after a birdie on #17.  With everything on the line on the final hole, Shawn Powers pulled off the win with a par and a final score of 79.  Brad Wahl (Guest) finished with an 80 and a second place finish. 

    Division 4 had four players within a stroke on the front nine, shooting two 44’s and two 45’s,  Chip Kirkland and Paul Harris were battling it out over the back nine with Kirkland losing his lead on #16 only to finish Par/Par to retake the lead and the win.  Final Score Chip Kirkland 88 over runner up Paul Harris’ 89.  Nicholas Gaston (Atlanta) came in 3rd with a 91.  

    Three competitors in division 5 were all in contention after Robbie Carlton took the early lead into the back nine.  Emmett Warner and Atlanta’s Mitchell McDannald all had opportunities and played hard to the final hole.  Winner was Mitchell McDannald with a round of 92 over runners-up Robbie Carlton and Emmett Warner with matching 93’s. 

    SR NET was won by Mike Wilkins with a net score of 71 over Johnny Pierce and Atlanta’s Andy Maestes both with a net score of 73.