Jun 1, 2024

2024 Arrowhead Golf Tournaments Results

Tournament Champions

View Tournament Results
Division 1 Champion

Elliott Sherrill

Division 2 Champion

/angel Sotelo

Division 3 Champion

Jose Garcia

Division 4 Champion

Kyle Wolack

Division 5 Champion

Joshua Isensee

Open Net Champion

Ryan Maramis

Senior Net Champion

Eddy Moore

    We took the tour back to San Diego County for “The Woods Invitational” at Arrowood Golf Club in Oceanside, CA.  It was an overcast beach day, but eventually the sun broke through, and it was a great day for golf.  Some new members and new guests were in the field as they battled for the win in 7 contests.   

    Division 1: Division 1 had many of our returning winners in the field including Spencer Payne (Yucaipa, Ca), Elliott Sherrill (Brea, CA), and runner up at Scottdale major, Eloy Rodriguez (Riverside, CA).  This one was tightly contested all day with Spencer having a slight lead, going into the back nine.  We have seen Elliott Sherrill come from behind at the Wine Country Championships and he pulled it off again!  Spencer and Eloy both were at plus +1 and +2 and Elliott at +3 going into the signature hole at Arrowood.  Hole #16 the Quandary, a downhill par 4, with an approach shot over water to a challenging green.  Spencer and Eloy took a double bogey and triple bogey and Elliott made birdie to flip the script once again and took the win at +3, after making bogey on the 18th hole with an errant approach shot.  Great playing guys.  

    Division 2: Angel Sotelo (Downey, CA) was at it again!  After winning his first two events on tour he was back after stumbling at the Wine Country Championships.   Some new faces emerged in Division 2 this tournament with Tanner Mandel (Laguna Hills, CA) and Jeffrey Bean (San Clemente, CA) both playing great golf.   Both Angel Sotelo and Tanner Mandel came down the stretch neck and neck with Tanner having a 1 shot lead going into 18.  Unfortunately, Tanner pulled his tee shot into the left fairway bunker and had a difficult lie.  Angel was in the left rough and put his shot on the green needing a birdie or par, to push it to a playoff.  Tanner miss hit his bunker shot and got lucky as it avoided the water and he was able to knock it on and save bogey, leaving Angel with a 3-footer to make par and force a playoff.  Jeffrey Bean was only 1 shot back as he came into 17 and 18 but took a bogey and ended up third with a 76.  Angel and Tanner went to a playoff and Angel prevailed to win again this season in division 2 and takes the lead in the season points race for player of the year.  

    Division 3: Back in action in Division 3 was our former winner at the Member/Guest at Glen Ivy was Jose Garcia (Lake Elsinore, CA).  He had missed a few tournaments but was ready to try and win again.  Andrew Kim (Los Angeles, CA) Daniel Payne (Yucaipa, CA) and Ryan Encinas (Oceanside, CA) were all playing well at Arrowood.  Jose and Andrew were tied coming into the 18th hole, but Andrew found trouble on his tee shot and instead of pushing to a playoff ended up taking triple bogey and finished with an 82 and third place.  Daniel Payne was playing well but he also took a bogey down the stretch and finished with an 81 and second place.  Ryan Encinas was in the mix but put his tee shot in the water on 18, which left Jose Garcia all alone at the end with a great round of 79 and the winner in Division 3 at Arrowood!  


    Division 4:  Our largest field of the day was in division 4.  Our player of the year leader Ryan Maramis (Corona, CA) was playing well once again, but being challenged by newcomer Kyle Wolack (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA) and Joshua Carter (Yorba Linda, CA).  It looked like we were going to a playoff as both Ryan and Kyle on the leaderboard were at +10 coming down 18.  Kyle had a difficult stance and lie that he played well onto the green and Ryan was in the bunker, with a tough shot to go over the water.  Ryan wasn’t’ able to clear the water and took a drop to finish 18 with a triple bogey and +13 taking second place. Joshua played consistent golf and shot +14 for third.  However an electronic scoring error had Kyle with a 5 on a par 3, when his paper scorecard had it at a birdie 2, thus making his final round 78 the winner by more shots than we realized and he earned his APT Membership and automatically with his score is promoted to Division 3, way to go Kyle and congrats.  

    Division 5: Returning after his win at the Wine country championships, Armando Aguirre (Temecula, CA) was ready to try and win again.  Season points leader Kirk Olmos (Moreno Valley, CA) and new division 5 player Joshua Isensee (Huntington Beach, CA) were ready to battle. As was the case in the other divisions, division 5 held true to the same story with everything coming down to the 18th hole again.  Kirk has to take a triple bogey to finish 3rd while Armando and Joshua forced a playoff both shooting 91.  It took 2 playoff holes before Joshua was able to prevail and take the win at Arrowood and Armando 2nd.  Shout out to Eddy Moore (Menifee, CA) who shot his best round ever on tour with a 95 and was 4th.  

    Senior Net contest: Eddy Moore (Menifee, CA) prevailed over Dave Davidson (Rancho Cucamonga, CA) and a pack of 3 at -1Dave was at -2 and Eddy played his best round to date and ended up with a net score of 67 and -4 to take the win!  


    Open Net Contest: We had a tie in our Open Net contest as both Angel Sotelo (Downey, CA) and Ryan Maramis (Corona, CA) both shot 1 under 70’s and ended up splitting first and second prize both taking home $120 each.  Ryan took the trophy as Angel won the trophy in Division 2.   

    Congratulations to all of our winners!   

    For a detailed view of the tournament’s leaderboard and comprehensive results, visit the official APT SoCal Tournament Leaderboard.