Mar 11, 2023

2023 Old Fort Golf Tournament Results


On Saturday, March 11, the Old Fort Golf Course in Murfreesboro, Tennessee hosted the 2023 season opener for the Nashville Chapter of the Amateur Player Tour. The event featured 132 players across 5 divisions competing for a total prize pool of almost $4,000. 

In Division 1, Ramsey Kimbrough of Soddy Daisy came out on top as the winner with an impressive score of two-under-par 70. Kimbrough played consistently throughout the round, carding four birdies and only two bogeys to secure his victory. Tied for second place, with a score of two-over-par 74, were Austin Vasquez of Hendersonville and Hall Haselton of Brentwood. Jeff Whittington of Murfreesboro came in fourth place with a score of three-over-par 75. 

In Division 2, Craig Ketelsen from Murfreesboro emerged as the winner with a score of +6. Ketelsen played consistently throughout the tournament, closed with his lone birdie of the round on the 18th and managed to hold off a strong challenge from Jack Buckley of Mount Juliet, who finished just one stroke behind him with a score of +7. Tom Foster of Murfreesboro finished in third place with a score of +8, while Jeff Snyder of Somerset, KY and Aaron Smith of Nashville tied for fourth place with scores of +9.  

In Division 3, Terence Harris of Nashville edges out Micheal Lynn of Murfreesboro in a one-hole playoff. Both players finished at +8.  Bryan Harwell of Lewisburg was a strong contender throughout the tournament and finished in third place with a score of +10, while Jimmy Pierce of Dayton finished in fourth place with a score of +12. 

In Division 4, Colm Murphy of Murfreesboro posted an outstanding score of +10 to take first-place honors. Will Houston of Brentwood put in a valiant effort to finish in second place with a score of +14. Eric Lessig of Nashville was the third-place finisher, posting a score of +15. David Smith of Charlotte finished in fourth place with a score of +16. 

In Division 5, Jimmy Murphy from Charlotte finished with a score of +16 to outlast Matthew Lacheta from Thompson's Station to capture 1st place.  In third place was Terry Hodge from Trussville, who posted a score of +21. Tyler Laney from Old Hickory finished in fourth place with a score of +23.  

In Senior Net, Bryan Harwell from Lewisburg posts an impressive score of even par. In second place was Jeff Snyder from Somerset, KY, who posted a score of +2. Johnny Pierce from Chattanooga finished in third place with a score of +3.  

The Nashville Chapter thanks all of our competitors for their participation and contributing to the success of our season opener.  We will be back-at-it on Saturday, March 18th as we travel to Henry Horton in Chapel Hill to hold our second event of the season. 

Other Results from Old Fort 

Division 1 Skins 

Division 2 Skins 

Division 3 Skins 

Division 4 Skins 

Division 5 Skins 

Super Skins 

Net Fourball 

Closest to the Pin #3 

Closest to the Pin #8 

Closest to the Pin #12 

Closest to the Pin #17 

50/50 Raffle winner benefitting Folds of Honor – Josh McPherson 


Old Fort Winners

Division 1 Champion

Ramsey Kimbrough


Division 2 Champion

Craig Ketelsen


Division 3 Champion

Terence Harris


Division 4 Champion

Colm Murphy


Division 5 Champion

Jimmy Murphy


Senior Net Champion

Bryan Harwell