Aug 12, 2023

2023 Montgomery Bell Golf Tournament Results


Eighty players traveled to Burns, TN to compete at Montgomery Bell for prizes totaling over $4,900.  Once again, the players were plagued with rain, thunder and lightning, which included a three-hour delay.  Eventually, the tournament resumed and all players were able to complete their rounds. 

In Division 1, Luke Smith from the Memphis chapter got off to a fast start posting four birdies in his first six holes before play was suspended. He finished with a round of five-under 66 to win by two strokes over guest Nicholas Boone from Hermitage, who had a great round, as well, with five birdies and a score of 68. 

In Division 2, John Hipp from Murfreesboro posted his lowest round on the Amateur Players Tour to capture the victory. Hipp, who posted a one-over 72 was consistent all day, making three birdies and 12 pars. Guest Peyton Saxton from Nashville, who made a run on the back nine in an attempt to catch Hipp, shoots two-over 74 to take second place. In a three-way tie for third place at four-over 75 were Kelly Raglin from Springfield, Aaron Smith from Nashville and Marcus Wirth from Scottsdale, AZ.  

In Division 3, Alex Richardson from Dickson edges out fellow Dicksonian, Lowe Prescott by three strokes to claim his 1st victory on tour.  Richardson closed his round with an eagle 3 on the par 5 18 and finished at six-over 77. Bryan Harwell from Lewisburg, continues his consistent play with his round of thirteen-over 84, finishes in 3rd place. 

In Division 4, Jason Bucher from Paris takes on his third trophy of the season and second trophy within his last three starts with his round of fourteen-over 85. He did have many challengers that did not make it easy with three players finishing one stroke off the pace. Will Houston from Brentwood, Reid Kieswetter from Brentwood and Joe Sins from Columbia posted rounds of fifteen-over 86. All three players split the 2nd and 3rd place prize. 

In Division 5, Tennessee East member, Chip Kirkland from Crossville squeaks out the one-stroke victory over David McDow from Lynnville and Thurman Boyd from Smyrna. Kirkland posted his round of eighteen-over 89 to best McDow and Boyd.  

In Senior Net, James Newkirk from Brentwood wins the scorecard playoff over Dickson’s Lowe Prescott.  Both players finished at net over-over 72 with Newkirk having the better back nine score to win the playoff. In a tie for 3rd place were Thurman Boyd, Bryan Harwell and David McDow, all finishing at net three-over par 74. 

All results, including our optional skins games, closest-to-the-pins and Net Fourball can be found on the Leaderboard link below. 

Montgomery Bell Leaderboard 

50/50 Raffle winner benefitting Folds of Honor 

Roger Vaughn - $185.00 

Our last one-day event will be held on Monday, August 21 at the Links Course on Tennessee Grasslands in Gallatin. This is the last event to earn points for the Founders Cup. Shotgun start begins at 1 pm. For more tournament info and to register, click the link below. Registration deadline is Monday, August 7th. 

Tennessee Grasslands Tournament Info Page 


Montgomery Bell Winners

Division 1 Champion

Luke Smith


Division 2 Champion

John Hipp


Division 3 Champion

Alex Richardson


Division 4 Champion

Jason Bucher


Division 5 Champion

Chip Kirkland