Jul 10, 2023

2023 McLemore Golf Tournament Results


“Picturesque” is the only way to describe McLemore on Lookout Mountain in Rising Fawn, GA.  The “above the clouds” motto did not disappoint as the scene was surreal. 

The course was left very wet after heavy rains overnight and meant Cart Path Only for the players that came from several Chapters.  (Atlanta, Birmingham, Indianapolis, Memphis, Nashville, as well as TN East) 

Division 1 Barney Sutley (Indianapolis) was the sole competitor in Div 1 but shot a very respectable 4 over par on the par 71 McLemore layout. 

Division 2 had John Hipp from Nashville feeling like he was the sole competitor as he ran away from the field on the front nine (+2) and maintaining his comfortable lead by shooting an even par back nine.  Hipp finished at a two over par 73 to take the win. The battle for 2nd place was won by Johnny Pierce with a steady 79 over Toby Swims in 3rd. 

Division 3 was the match to watch as 3 players ended up at 10 over 81.  Playoff winner Kevin Webster (Indianapolis) defeated local Randy Redden on the second playoff hole after Hess was eliminated on the first playoff hole. 

Division 4 newcomer from Nashville, Olumide Akingbemi looked to be in control with a 2 shot lead on the front nine that he built up to a 5 shot lead before starting to come back to the field late on the back nine.  He however maintained his composure and lead to hang on to a 2 shot victory (83) over Daniel England (85). 

Division 5 had a few frontrunners on the first 9 holes, but eventual winner Bo Watson (TN East) came in strong with a five over par back nine to secure the win with an 88.  Close behind were 2nd place Doug Gibbs (89) and in 3rd Justin Skinner (90). 

SR NET was close as only 2 strokes separated the first four players.  Barney Sutley held on for the eventual win at +2 (73) over Johnny Pierce and Mike Wilkins who tied for 2nd at +3 (74).   

Shot of the day goes to Mike Wilkins who ACED hole #7!!! 

TN EAST’s next event will be Saturday July 29th at Woodlake golf course in Tazwell, TN. 


McLemore Winners

Division 1 &
Senior Net Champion

Barney Sutley


Division 2 Champion

John Hipp


Division 3 Champion

Kevin Webster


Division 4 Champion

Olumide Akingbemi


Division 5 Champion

Bo Watson